I love love love love love snuggles. Happy sigh. 🙂

Kaja fell asleep on my shoulder while giving me a hug today. Fills me with happiness just thinking about it.

I have to say, I am very blessed to have the life I do. I have a hard working partner, a wonderful daughter, and a loving family. So much to be grateful for.

I’m at a place in my life now where I feel truly happy. Sure there are times when I get stressed, or frustrated, or sad, but for the most part, I’m a genuine sparkly-rainbow-unicorn-dance-in-the-rain sort of person. I’m the type of person who will drag you outside to excitedly point out the new flower that just opened, or take a bajillion pictures of the trees and sky because it’s just so freakin’ amazing, or puddle jump until I’m muddy and soaked.

The interesting piece is that this wasn’t always the case. A few years back, if you met me out and about, I’d seem content, but in reality I was rather unhappy and viewed the world as containing much ugliness and pain.

So what changed?

Many things really, and it’s hard to pinpoint just one. That’s the thing about joy. That’s the thing about positive change. It’s subtle. It comes in, takes root in your heart, and becomes a living, breathing, multifaceted, light-filled force. It fills you, changes you, and impacts those around you.

I decided that there is so much that is beautiful and full of light in this world and I did not want to waste my time mulling over all that is wrong. I wanted to live from this place of spirit and connection with the universe. It came down to realizing that as cliche as it might sound, love really is the answer. It’s as simple as that: Love. Live with love. Live from a place of love. Embody love. Be a light filled being of love.

The more I focused on this, the more I realized how hollow negativity really is, and the fuller I became. Darkness is loud and flashy, but, like a decked out mannequin, when all the designer clothing and jewelry are gone, what’s left is insubstantial, and what was there, though showy, had no real strength to it. The true power lies in love. That’s why I believe that people who hurt others for personal gain will never truly know what it is to feel joy or fullness, because their gains are hollow and have no roots. Those who live with love have an immeasurable inner power that subtly encourages positive shifts and growth in those around them.

And now I am again at a crossroads. I stumbled briefly there, lost sight of that truly important piece. Got too caught up in jumping through hoops to reach a goal I don’t think I even want anymore. So now I’m changing directions. I want to work with others to help them feel full as well. I want to help others connect to the light inside of them and truly feel what it’s like to live from a place of love.

Join me if you’d like. I’m eager to see where this road will take us.

Oh, and just for smiles, take a minute and watch The Pig of Happiness by Edward Monkton.